Segment 1 Information
The all inclusive prices for our classroom services (no book fees or extra gas charges), are listed below: Note the discounted cash prices. You can pay with Credit Card here.
$385 – The “Everything Package” includes Segment 1, Segment 2, and a Road Test. ($375 if paid by cash, check, or money order)
$349 – Segment 1 and Segment 2. ($339 if paid by cash, check, or money order)
$309 – Segment 1 alone.($299 if paid by cash, check, or money order)
$125 – Segment 1 class retake (Assuming you passed the road work).($120 if paid by cash, check, or money order)
$41 – Segment 2. ($40 if paid by cash, check, or money order)
Subtract $5 from any Segment 1 or higher price if it is paid in full with cash, check, or money order, at least 2 weeks before class begins.
We accept cash, checks, money order, or credit cards. Checks can be made payable to Major Driving School LLC.
If you would like to register, please call our office at 810-743-8217, fax or mail a completed contract, or submit an online registration. Registrations will be taken on a “first come, first served” basis.
Major Driving School LLC offers the very finest in driver education instruction and has been approved by the Michigan Department of Education. Our school is also licensed by the Michigan Department of State, school license number P000502. We are fully bonded and insured as well as all our automobiles. All private driving schools are required to have the same certifications and approvals by the SOS and DOE.
Students must be 14 years and 8 months by the first day of class. An original birth certificate to verify the student’s age should be brought to the first class. Students are required to have a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction. This will consist of 12 class sessions of 2 hours each. Any missed classes will need to be made up at the next class. All materials for the class will be provided at no extra charge. Each student will be given a textbook for use which will need to be returned at the end of class. We use the Michigan Traffic Safety Education Student Manual (2010), approved by the Michigan Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (MDTSEA) and the Michigan Secretary of State.
Each student will also need to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving along with 4 hours of in car observation. The behind-the-wheel driving will be done in our automobile on the city streets, highways, and expressways of Genesee county. Our car is equipped with dual control brakes and is fully insured for your safety. Depending on enrollment, students may do their roadwork before or after class and then be taken home or to class. If other driving will be needed, the student will be picked up at home or a mutually agreed upon place and then returned to the same. Driving may sometimes be done on weekends. In some classes, the driving may have to be done after the last day of class and possibly take part of the next several weeks to complete. All class work and road work must be completed in 6 weeks. Every effort will be made to make the driving as convenient as possible for each student.
Certificate of Completion
Once the student has passed the class work and become certified by the road instructor, he/she will receive his or her SEGMENT 1 Driver Education Certificate of Completion. This certifies that he/she has completed the mandatory Driver Education program as required by law, for those under 18 years of age. The GREEN, SEGMENT 1 Driver Education Certificate of Completion must be taken to the Secretary of States office to obtain a level 1 learner’s license. Each student will also need to take an original birth certificate or a certified copy. A vision test will also be required at that time. The cost is $25.